Skip to Main Content

DMACC Baseball Players Commit to Four-Year Schools

Posted 7/11/2014

Eleven members of the 2013-14 Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) baseball team have committed to continuing their educational and athletic careers at four-year colleges and universities.

Nine of the 11 players will attend schools at the NCAA Division I level, one player is attending an NCAA Division II school and another will attend an NCAA Division II school.

The 11 players who have committed to NCAA Division I schools include shortstop Tyler Wolfe of Maple Plain, Minn; catcher Steve Serratore of Austin, Minn; outfielder Roman Collins of Maple Grove, Minn; first baseman Charlie Coghlin of Colorado Springs, Colo.; pitcher Ryan Fritze of Woodbury, Minn.; infielder Shea Molitor of Plymouth, Minn.; outfielder Blake Molitor of Plymouth, Minn.; pitcher Connor Schwienebart of Dallastown, Penn.; and pitcher Chris Myjak of Itasca, Ill.

Wolfe and Serratore are headed to Kansas State University, Collins will attend Florida Atlantic University; Coghlin is going to St. Joseph University; Fritze and Shea Molitor are going to Valparaiso University; Blake Molitor will attend Illinois State University; Schwienebart plans to attend Indiana State University; and Myjak will attend Butler University.

Sophomore infielder Patrick Fiala of Sioux Falls, S.D., plans to return to his hometown and attend Augustana College, an NCAA Division II school, and sophomore Dominic Reed of Prior Lake, Minn., is going to the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minn.

Those 11 sophomores led DMACC to a 40-18 record in 2013-14, including a 21-7 mark in the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference. The Bears won their seventh consecutive ICCAC regular season championship and advanced to the championship game of the National Junior College Athletic Association Region XI tournament where their season ended with a 6-2 loss to Southeastern Community College (SECC).