Cosmetology

Professional Licensure/Relicensure: Cosmetology

Cosmetology Continuing Education requirements include completion of a total of eight (8) hours of approved continuing education every two (2) years. Barbers may also receive continuing education credits for any of these classes.

A licensee in this state shall be required to complete a minimum of 8 hours of board-approved continuing education, of which 4 hours shall be in the prescribed practice discipline.  A minimum of 2 hours of the 8 hours shall be in the content areas of Iowa cosmetology law and rules and sanitation.  Individuals holding more than one active license shall obtain 4 hours of board-approved continuing education in each prescribed practice discipline an an additional 2 hours in the content areas of Iowa cosmetology law and rules and sanitation. 

No hours of continuing education shall be carried over into the next biennium. Classes are held regularly in Ankeny in the Fall and Spring.

Home Study

A maximum of two hours of independent study per biennium will be allowed. Independent study must be related to either Iowa cosmetology law and administrative rules or sanitation.

A home study packet is available for $25 throughout the fall and spring terms. Contact Registration, 515-964-6800 and register for COSM 941.

»  View current class listing